Call for Application: United Nations International Law Fellowship for African Scholars to Study in Ethiopia- 2018

Did you know that Ethiopia is the oldest independent country in Africa? Ethiopia,officially the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, is a country located in the Horn of Africa. It shares borders with Eritrea to the north and northeast, Djibouti and Somalia to the east, Sudan and South Sudan to the west, and Kenya to the south. The United Nations, however, is offering Regional Course in International Law open to academia and professionals from intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations and similar institutions engaged in international law activities in Africa.

The 2017 United Nations Regional Course in International law for Africa will be organized by the Codification Division of the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs in cooperation with Ethiopia, the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) and the African Union. The Regional Course will be conducted in English.

The Regional Courses provide high-quality training by leading scholars and practitioners on a broad range of core subjects of International law, as well as specific subjects of particular interest to the countries in a given region.

The Regional Courses are intended to enable qualified professionals, in particular, government officials and teachers of International law from developing countries and countries with emerging economies, to deepen their knowledge of International law and of the legal work of the United Nations and its associated bodies.

Fields of Study: The Regional Courses may include seminars on the following topics: Introduction to International law, Treaty law, State responsibility, International peace and security, Peaceful settlement of international disputes, Diplomatic and consular law, International organizations, United Nations institutions and law making, The Work of the International Law Commission, African Union law and institutions, Organization of American States law and institutions, International human rights law, Movements of persons, International humanitarian law, International criminal law, International environmental law, International watercourses, Law of the sea, International trade law, International investment law, Legal research, Legal drafting.

Image result for images for United Nations Fellowship for African Scholars 2018

Type: Short course, Fellowship

Eligible Countries: African countries (see list below) 

To be taken at (country): Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Eligibility: To qualify for the Regional Course, candidates

  • must have a legal background with professional experience in the field of International law,
  • are required to submit a medical certificate of good health and to certify that they are able to attend the entire course period,
  • Fluency in spoken and written English is also required.

Selection Criteria: When selecting participants for the Regional Courses:

  • due consideration is given to the candidates’ qualifications, the scope of their professional duties, the relevance of the training to their professional duties and gender balance.
  • Applications from female candidates are strongly encouraged.
  • Due consideration is also given to those candidates who are already present in Addis Ababa.

Number of Awardees: The course will accommodate up to 30 participants.

Value of Programme: The fellowships cover the fellowship recipient’s travel in economy class, accommodation, meals, medical insurance, participation in the Regional Course and the training materials. In accordance with the policies and procedures governing the administration of United Nations fellowships, participants will also receive a stipend to cover other living expenses.

Qualified candidates may also apply for self-funded positions. Self-funded participants bear all costs associated with their participation (travel, accommodation and living expenses). Training materials and lunches during the weekdays are provided to all participants.

Duration of Programme: The Regional Course will be held at the facilities of the ECA in Addis Ababa, from 5th February to 2nd March 2018

Eligible countries: The Regional Course is open to candidates from the following countries: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

How to Apply: Download and fill the Application Form at the right hand corner

Visit Programme Webpage for details

Award Provider: United Nations

Application Deadline: 20th October 2017

Offered annually

For more inquiries about admissions and visas to study abroad, send an email or call: +2347037293057, 08125835476



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *